General Blog

Home » Health » The 4 Stages Of Sleep — Cycles, Phases, and Improvement

The 4 Stages Of Sleep — Cycles, Phases, and Improvement

10.25K 0

Do you understand what goes on in your mind when you hit the pillow every night? Usually, human beings undergo four sleep cycles. Each of the stages can last about 15 minutes. During the different stages, the brain goes through various activity patterns. The four stages of sleep include the REM and the Non-REM activities. REM stands for Rapid Eye Movement while the Non-Rem is no eye movement stages. Here is a brief discussion of what happens every night when it is bedtime.

What Happens Immediately When you Begin Falling Asleep

This is the early phase of sleep when you have just jumped into the adjustable bed base queen with a fitting mattress in readiness to get to the land of dreams.  During this period, the brain is relatively awake. At this stage, the brain is producing small and fast beta waves. The brain will then start to feel relaxed and it is slowing down in readiness to shut down the eyes. At this phase, the slower waves also referred to as the alpha waves are being produced. It is common to start feeling a strange and an extremely vivid sensation at this stage.  This feeling is commonly referred to as hypnagogic hallucinations, and it is associated with falling or hearing someone call out your name. At this stage, another common feeling is myoclonic jerk that might appear unusual.

The NREM Stage 1

This is now the beginning of the sleep cycle. It is also commonly referred to as the light stage of sleep. It is characterized by transitioning from the wakefulness stage to the sleep stage. During the sleep cycle stage one, the brain is producing high amplitude theta waves. These are relatively very slow brain waves. During this period of sleep, which might last only for a brief time, a person does not know that they are actually asleep. In fact, if you interfere with the person at this stage, they are likely to report that they were not asleep.

The NREM Stage 2

During the stage two of sleep, a person becomes less aware of what is happening in their surroundings. This is the stage when the body temperatures drop due to less body activity. The heartbeat rate and the breathing become regular. The stage two lasts for approximately 20 minutes and the brain is usually producing a rhythmic brain wave activity rapidly. This is the kind of activity referred to as the sleep spindles. The body temperatures at this stage are decreased with the heart beating at a rate that is slower. Research has shown that this is the stage that takes up about 50% of a person’s sleep cycle. Ensure that you read the tips for better sleep to ensure your body gets maximum rest at this stage.

The NREM Stage 3 and 4

During the sleep Stage 3 and 4, relaxed muscles and lower blood pressure as well as a drop in the breathing rate are eminent.  At this stage, the deepest sleep occurs and the brain experiences deep slow brain waves that are referred to as the delta sleep waves. At this stage, you are less responsive and any noises or activity around you might fail to attract any response. At these final stages, the stage two is repeated before waking up.

Those common occurrences take place every night while asleep. It is important you understand each of these stages to ensure a goodnight sleep.